To top
4 Jun


The theme for the 24th South African Music Awards (Samas), ‘Glammed Up’, was interpreted in peculiar ways by the A-listers who descended upon Sun City to see which artists would scoop up the most awards. The red carpet was a sea of endless folds of organza and beading making it look as if many of the attendees had taken a detour from a Matric dance. Others clearly missed the memo and failed to dress to impress at all.

Loot Love donned a beautiful pale pink velvet dress designed by celeb fashion favourite, Gert-Johan Coetzee. A constellation of black stars added interest to the sheer top, while a thigh-high slit showed off her endless legs to perfection. The drape of the gown’s train, and the addition of a sheer ruffled cape, ensured her outfit looked as dramatic from the back as it did from the front.

Man of the moment Ricky Rick stole the show wearing an outfit from internationally-acclaimed local designer Chu Suwannapha’s label Chulaap, which he teamed with Gucci brogues and a hat by Simon and Mary. Designed by Keys Fashion, Nomuzi Mabena’s gold beaded fringe gown gave us Great Gatsby vibes in the best possible way. Click on the gallery to see the red carpet fab from the evening.

2018 SAMA Award winners:

Newcomer of the Year: Shekhinah for  ‘Rose Gold’

Male Artist of the Year: Prince Kaybee for ‘I am Music’

Female Artist of the Year: Shekhinah for ‘Rose Gold’

Duo or Group of the Year: Mafikizolo for ‘20’

Album of the Year: ‘Rose Gold’ by Shekhinah

SAMRO Highest Airplay Composer’s Award: Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto for ‘Akanamali’ composed by Sanele “Sun-El Musician” Sithole

CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer’s Award: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ composed by Timothy Bambelela Myeni

Best Selling Digital Artist of the Year: Joyous Celebration for ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’

SAMPRA Highest Airplay Song of the Year: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-EL Musician ft Samthing Soweto

Best Selling DVD of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Album of the Year: ‘Joyous Celebration Volume 21: Heal Our Land’ by Joyous Celebration

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Mbongeni Ngema,   Adv Steve Kekana , Letona “Spokes H” Hlatshwayo Spokes

International Achievement Award: Shashika Mooruth

Best Rock Album: ‘Selfmedikasie’ by Fokofpolisiekar

Best Pop Album: ‘The Beautiful Madness’ by TRESOR

Beste Pop Album: ‘Laat Die Dansvloer Brand’ by Kurt Darren

Best Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Symphonic Soweto’ by Wouter Kellerman and the Soweto Gospel Choir

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album:  ‘Skepe’ by Jo Black

Best African Adult Contemporary Album: ‘Ilanga’ by Siseko Pame

Best Alternative Music Album: ‘Mangaliso’ by Bongeziwe Mabandla

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album: ‘Relationships’ by Afrotraction

Best Hip Hop Album: ‘Yellow’ by Shane Eagle

Best Kwaito Album: ‘Highly Flavoured’ by Busiswa

Best Dance Album: ‘King Zamar’ by Lady Zamar

Best Traditional Faith Music Album: ‘Andile KaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele’ by Andile KaMajola

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album:  ‘Heaven’s Ways’ by Nqubeko Mbatha

Best African Indigenous Gospel Album: ‘Samson Aphi Amandla Akho’ by Vuma Zion

Best African Artist Album: ‘The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience’ by Simphiwe Dana

Best Traditional Music Album: ‘Jessica Mbangeni Sings IGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg’ by Jessica Mbangeni

Best Maskandi Album:  ‘6 to 6’ by Abafana Baka Mgqumeni

Best Jazz Album: ‘Ikhambi’ by Nduduzo Makhathini

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album: ‘Baroqueswing Vol. III’ by Charl du Plessis Trio

Best  Afro Pop Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo

Best Live Audio Visual Recording / DVD: ‘Red Mic Xperience’ by Donald. Visual recording producer: Robin Kohl

Best Collaboration: ‘Akanamali’ by Sun-El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto

Music Video of the Year: ‘Arumtumtum’ by Rouge. Directed by Alex Fynn

Best Produced Album: ‘Late Night People’ by Goldfish. Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole

Best Engineered Album: ‘20’ by Mafikizolo. Produced by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe

Remix of the Year: ‘I got you’ by Encore. Remixed by Mobi Dixon

Photography Courtesy:

Instagram|Featured Image: @Mondenyovane

No Comments

Leave a reply